The First Session of the First Parliament

South Australia's Parliament met for the first time on April 22, 1857, under the leadership of the Hon BT Finnis. This was the first day on which the people of South Australia had the right to exercise self-government.

Parliament was opened at 1pm, by Benjamin Boothby, Acting Chief Justice. The Legislative Council elected its President, and the House of Assembly elected its Speaker, before the Governor addressed both Houses, outlining the planned legislative program of the new Ministry. Outside Parliament, a crowd of about a thousand spectators waited to watch the Governor arrive.

The first three Sessions of the First Parliament are available for review below.

Other South Australian Founding Documents can be found here