Legislative Council: Wednesday, May 18, 2022


Budget and Finance Committee

Adjourned debate on motion of Hon. N.J. Centofanti:

1. That a committee, to be called the Budget and Finance Committee, be appointed to monitor and scrutinise all matters relating to the state budget and the financial administration of the state, any related policy matter and any other related matter.

2. That the standing orders of the Legislative Council in relation to select committees be applied and accordingly—

(a) that the committee consist of seven members, that the quorum of members necessary to be present at all meetings of the committee be fixed at four members; and

(b) that this council permits the committee to authorise the disclosure or publication, as it sees fit, of any evidence or documents presented to the committee prior to any such evidence being reported to the council.

3. That members of the council who are not members of the committee may, at the discretion of the chairperson, participate in proceedings of the committee but may not vote, move any motions or be counted for the purposes of a quorum.

4. That members of the council who are ministers of the Crown are unable to serve on the committee or participate in committee hearings, except as a witness called before the committee.

(Continued from 4 May 2022.)

The Hon. K.J. MAHER (Attorney-General, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for Industrial Relations and Public Sector) (16:45): I rise to indicate that the government will support this motion. This motion continues the now reasonably longstanding practice of appointing a Budget and Finance Committee at the start of each parliament to allow opposition, crossbench and indeed government members to scrutinise the expenditure of the government. Having been a member of this committee on and off over quite a long period of time now, I know it plays an important role and gives a regular opportunity for members of the Legislative Council to examine individual departments and their expenditure.

I think it had traditionally been moved by the opposition at the start of each parliament. I think for the first time I can remember, after the 2018 election the government moved the motion. Because it is a committee that is the domain of non-government members by and large, I have had some discussions with the Leader of the Opposition and I think it is probably more appropriate that the opposition move this, but I indicate that we will be supporting it.

Motion carried.

The Hon. N.J. CENTOFANTI (Leader of the Opposition) (16:47): I move:

That the select committee consist of the Hon T.A. Franks, the Hon. H.M. Girolamo, the Hon. J.M.A. Lensink, the Hon. R.B. Martin, the Hon. F. Pangallo, the Hon. I. Pnevmatikos and the Hon. S.G. Wade.

Motion carried.

The Hon. N.J. CENTOFANTI: I move:

That the select committee have power to send for persons, papers and records and to adjourn from place to place and to report on 30 November 2022.

Motion carried.